Five Warriors in England Academy squad

  • Five Warriors have been included in the England Academy squad to take on France this weekend.
  • Ryan Brown, Jack Farrimond, Taylor Kerr, Kian McDermott and Tom Ratchford have all been called up.
  • Warriors head of youth Shane Eccles has also been named as England Academy’s assistant coach.

Five Wigan Warriors players have been included in England Academy’s 21-man squad to take on France this weekend.

Warriors prop Kian McDermott, along with Wakefield Trinity backrower Ethan Wood, have been drafted into England Rugby League’s Academy squad ahead of Saturday’s international against France in Saint-Gaudens.

McDermott becomes the fifth Warriors selection in head coach Paul Anderson’s 21-strong squad, along with Ryan Brown, Jack Farrimond, Taylor Kerr and Tom Ratchford.

Speaking on McDermott’s inclusion, Anderson said: “Kian and Ethan have earned their selection and I’d like to thank their clubs, Wigan Warriors and Wakefield Trinity, for their support. A strong relationship with clubs is integral to what we are aiming to achieve through the entire England talent pathway.”

Warriors head of youth Shane Eccles has been named as England’s assistant coach, and on his appointment Anderson said: “Like the playing squad, the backroom team is also drawn from clubs from across the Academy competition, and assistant coaches Shane Eccles and Rob Nickolay are a real credit to their respective clubs Wigan and Castleford.”

England RL Academy is part of the RFL’s talent pathway, which also includes England Knights and the senior men’s squad. Several members of the England squad named recently by Shaun Wane are graduates of this pathway, including Wigan Warriors’ Liam Marshall and Harry Smith.

Anderson’s final selection for the match in Saint-Gaudens will be announced on Friday.

Full England Academy squad: Joe Bajer (Warrington Wolves), Ryan Brown (Wigan Warriors), Jack Charles (Hull FC), Leon Cowen (St Helens), Owen Dagnall (St Helens), Jack Farrimond (Wigan Warriors), Louix Gorman (Hull KR), Lucas Green (Warrington Wolves), Taylor Kerr (Wigan Warriors), Kian McDermott (Wigan Warriors), Thomas McKinney (Warrington Wolves), Thomas Ratchford (Wigan Warriors), Harry Robertson (St Helens), Dayon Sambou (St Helens), Jack Sinfield (Leeds Rhinos), Harvey Smith (Wakefield Trinity), Jack Smith (Leeds Rhinos), Neil Tchamambe (Leeds Rhinos), Nolan Tupaea (Warrington Wolves), Jon Vaughan (St Helens), Cobie Wainhouse (Hull FC).

Wednesday 05 July 2023