19-man squad vs Salford

19-man squad vs Salford

  • Adrian Lam names the Wigan Warriors 19-man squad to face Salford Red Devils this Friday in the Betfred Super League play-Offs.

  • Two changes from last week as Marshall and Farrell come in for Smith and Partington

  • Wigan Warriors vs Salford Red Devils, Friday 20th September, DW Stadium, K.O. 7:45pm

Head Coach Adrian Lam has named the Wigan Warriors 19-man squad to face Salford Red Devils at the DW Stadium this Friday (K.O. 7:45pm).

Wigan are set to host Salford for the second time in 2019 after beating Ian Watson’s side back in June 28-12. The Play-Off tie will be the fourth time the two sides have met this season, with the Warriors winning all three.

Team News

Second-row Liam Farrell returns to the 19-man squad after serving his one-match suspension. However, forward Ollie Partington misses out this week after receiving a one-match ban for a Grade A offence (strike with arm) vs Castleford Tigers last week.

Speaking earlier this week, Lam provided an update on the condition of centre Dan Sarginson, who left the field early last Thursday.

“We replaced him last week as a precautionary one regarding his hamstring. At the moment he is 50/50.”

Sarginson has been included in the 19-man squad to face Salford.

Liam Marshall, who hasn’t played since bagging a hat-trick vs Wakefield two weeks ago due to a hamstring injury, returns to the squad this week.

Lam also provided updates on prop-forward Joe Bullock and half-back Jarrod Sammut who have been missing since St Helens away (12th July) and Warrington at home (16th August) respectively.

“Joe Bullock is still two or three weeks away. Jarrod Sammut will start training this week but is still two weeks away.”

Half-back Jake Shorrocks remains sidelined with a hamstring injury.

Long-term injuries

  • Tom Davies (ankle)

  • Dom Manfredi (knee)

Wigan Warriors 19-man squad vs Salford Red Devils:

Joe Burgess, Liam Byrne, Tony Clubb, Liam Farrell, Ben Flower, Bevan French, Oliver Gildart, Joe Greenwood, Chris Hankinson, Zak Hardaker, Willie Isa, Tommy Leuluai, Liam Marshall, Romain Navarrete, Sean O’Loughlin, Sam Powell, Dan Sarginson, Morgan Smithies, George Williams.

Recent News & Media

2019 review: May
Warriors in Knights training
England Academy to face Wales
Powell named Knights captain