Wigan youngsters get England call

Wigan youngsters get England call

  • England Youth National Performance Squad selected.

  • Eight Wigan Under-16s players are named.

  • England Youth to play a number of International Test matches later this year.

Eight Wigan Warriors Under-16 players have been named in the England Youth National Performance Squad.

A 68-player National Performance Squad has been selected by England Youth Head Coach Danny Wilson and Assistants Mark Applegarth and Anthony Atherton for the 2019 season.

The selection includes representatives from 12 clubs across Betfred Super League, Championship and League 1.

The Warriors lead the way, alongside Leeds Rhinos and St Helens with eight players selected from each club.

Wigan youngsters Alex Sutton, Billy Cannon, Jack Taylor, Joe Charnock, Logan Astley, Kavan Rothwell, Matty Nicholson and Owen Fisher have all been chosen.

England Youth will play a number of International Test matches later this year which will be confirmed in due course.

England Youth Assistant and Wigan Community Innovation Manager, Anthony Atherton, said: “It’s great to see players in our system progress. We had six that went on to represent England last year, having been through the programme. This is a reward for the efforts put in by the players, the parents that support them and the community clubs and coaches that have helped them make this next step.”

National Youth Performance Squad in full:

Jacob Beety, Jake Judson, Taylor Mail, Lewis Camden (Bradford Bulls), Adam Rusling, Archie Fletcher, Bailey Hodgson, Caelum Jordan, Cain Robb, Jayden Field, Josh Thornton (Castleford Tigers), Alex Dickens, Bailey Dawson, Jacob Hookem, Joel Speed, Leon Stewart (City of Hull), Ben Killan Fenton Rogers, George Collins, Kieran Rush, Will Pryce, Max Hindle (Huddersfield Giants), Ajahni Wallace, Andrew Stewart, Coby Nichol, Joe Gibbons, Luca Atkinson, Sam Little, Oliver Field, Tom Nicholson-Wattern (Leeds Rhinos), Bryn Bradley, Chris Grint, Femi Sanya, Jack Howorth, Max Allen (London Broncos), Elliot Shaw, Henry Bowler Jake Anderson (Newcastle Thunder), Daniel Ganson, Daniel Moss, Ellis Keppel, Joe Woods, Reece Sumner, Rio-Osayonwambo Corkill, Taylor Pemberton, Owen Blackwood (St Helens), Elliot Wood, Isaac Shaw, Jimmy Ferguson, Pat O’Donavan (Wakefield Trinity), Ethan Bradbury, Howard Hackett, Jacob Farrimond, Kieran Rennox, Luke Broadbent, Toby Hughes, Tom Whitehead (Warrington Wolves), James Murray, Ryan Barnes, Jonathan Bennison (Widnes Vikings), Alex Sutton, Billy Cannon, Jack Taylor, Joe Charnock, Logan Astley, Kavan Rothwell, Matty Nicholson, Owen Fisher (Wigan Warriors).

Recent News & Media

Fought for each other: Hardaker
Built on effort: Powell
Confidence Booster: French
Stay focused: Lam