Wiganers in Academy Origins squads

Wiganers in Academy Origins squads

  • Seven Wigan U19s named in Lancashire Academy Origins squad

  • Hamlett & Halsall in squad for first time

  • Lancashire side will face Australian Schoolboys on 1st December in Manchester

Seven Wigan Warriors U19s have been named in the Lancashire Academy Origins squad to face the Australian Schoolboys on 1st December at the Manchester Regional Arena (KO 1:30pm)

Wigan’s Reece Hamlett and Sam Halsall, who have been called up for the first time, will lineup alongside teammates Aiden Roden, Ethan Havard, James McDonnell, Joe Shorrocks and Nathan Wilde.

The Lancashire side will be coached by former Rochdale Hornets coach Ian Talbot, supported by two-times Steve Prescott Man of Steel winner, Paul Sculthorpe.

Off the back of an Academy Origins victory over Yorkshire back in September (click HERE for report), Lancashire will head to the Manchester Regional Arena to take on the Australian Schoolboys on December 1 (KO, 1:30pm).

The Yorkshire Academy side will face the Aussies first at the Mend-A-Hose Jungle, Castleford on Wednesday, November 28 (KO 7.30pm).

England Academy will then take on the Australian Schoolboys at Leigh Sports Village on Saturday, December 8 (KO 2.00pm) and the Emerald Headingley Stadium on Friday, December 14 (KO 7.30pm).

Squads for the England Academy fixtures will be announced later this month.

Lancashire ‘Origin’ Squad in full:

Aiden Roden (Wigan Warriors) Ben Davies (Widnes Vikings) Christian Kellett (St Helens) Ethan Havard (Wigan Warriors) Jack Welsby (St Helens) Jake Wingfield (St Helens) James McDonnell (Wigan Warriors) Jarrod O’Connor (Widnes Vikings) Jayden Hatton (Widnes Vikings) Joe Sharratt (St Helens) Joe Shorrocks (Wigan Warriors) John Hutchings (St Helens) Josh Simm (St Helens) Matthew Foster (St Helens) Nathan Wilde (Wigan Warriors) Oliver Leyland (London Broncos) Reece Hamlett (Wigan Warriors) Sam Halsall (Wigan Warriors) Sam Royle (St Helens) Tom Nisbet (St Helens)

Yorkshire ‘Origin’ Squad in full: Muizz Mustapha (Leeds Rhinos) Callum McLelland (Leeds Rhinos) Conner Wynne (City of Hull Academy) Corey Johnson (Leeds Rhinos) Dom Young (Huddersfield Giants) Elliot Wallis (City of Hull Academy) Jack Broadbent (Leeds Rhinos) Jack Brown (City of Hull Academy) Jack Flynn (Huddersfield Giants) Keelan Foster (Bradford Bulls) Lewis Carr (Castleford Tigers) Lewis Peachey (Castleford Tigers) Louis McConnell (Leeds Rhinos) Mikey Lewis (City of Hull Academy) Owen Trout (Leeds Rhinos) Robbie Storey (Castleford Tigers) Rory Nettleton (Newcastle Thunder) Rowan Milnes (Bradford Bulls) Tom Holroyd (Leeds Rhinos) Tyler Dupree (Leeds Rhinos)

Recent News & Media

Building momentum: Farrell
Really proud: Lam
Warriors ease past Wakefield
Flower named in Wales squad