Escaré and Navarette to face Wales

Escaré and Navarette to face Wales

  • Betfred Super League Champions Morgan Escaré and Romain Navarette to face Wales on Saturday

  • Clash is part of the European Championship, which doubles as a qualifier for the 2021 Rugby League World Cup in England

  • Game available to watch on the BBC Sport Website

Wigan Warriors’ duo Morgan Escaré and Romain Navarrete have been included in France’s 19-man squad to face Wales in the European Championship (5pm UK Time).

The European Championship sees France, Wales, Scotland and Ireland face each other over the international break with results also serving as qualifiers for the 2021 Rugby League World which will be hosted in England, with Academy duo Liam Byrne and Dec O’Donnell named in the Ireland set-up for the tournament.

The French pair, who made history by becoming the first Frenchmen to feature in a Super League Grand Final earlier this month, are set to feature on Saturday’s at the Stade Albert Domec, Carcassonne against former Wigan Warriors assistant coach John Kear’s Wales side that includes former Warrior Rhodri Lloyd in their 19-man matchday squad.

It promises to be an emotional night in Carcassonne as all proceeds from the game will be donated to the victims of the Aude flash floods that have tragically affected the South West France region.

The game will be available on the BBC Sport Website.


Bastien Escamilla (Carcassonne XIII), Lucas Albert, Jason Baitieri, Lambert Belmas, Alrix da Costa, Tony Gigot, Mickael Goudemand, Benjamin Jullien (Catalans Dragons), Hakim Miloudi (Hull FC), Thibaud Margalet (St Esteve/XIII Catalan), Theo Fages (St Helens), Bastien Ader, William Barthau, Rhys Curran, Paul Marcon, Stanislas Robin, (Toulouse Olympique), Morgan Escare, Romain Navarette (Wigan Warrioirs), Valentin Yesa (XIII Limouxin)


Dalton Grant (Bradford Bulls), Chris Vitalini (Coventry Bears), Josh Ralph (Easts Tigers), Chester Butler, Connor Davies, Curtis Davies, Dan Fleming, Sion Jones (Halifax), Ben Evans, Elliot Kear, Rhys Williams (London Broncos), Elliot Jenkins (Rochdale Hornets), Gavin Bennion (Salford Red Devils), Ben Morris (St Helens), Rhodri Lloyd (Swinton Lions), Courtney Davies (unattached), James Olds (Wests Panthers. Brisbane), Morgan Evans, Steve Parry (West Wales Raiders)

Recent News & Media

Strong academy: Leuluai
Best I can be: Gildart
Farrell thanks fans
Christmas Giveaway: Day 3