Souths Squad

Souths Squad

  • Wigan Warriors name provisional team for International Double Header

  • Warriors name starting XIII with 1 to 13 expected to start

  • Wigan play South Sydney and Hull face St George Illawarra at ANZ Stadium on Saturday

Wigan Warriors have today named a provisional team for the International Double Header game against South Sydney Rabbitohs.

The Warriors will take on the Rabbitohs, the first ever meeting between the two famous clubs, at ANZ Stadium on Saturday. Beforehand Hull FC will face St George Illawarra Dragons – the first time two NRL teams have faced Super League sides at the same stadium.

As is standard in Australia, the Warriors have named their starting XIII and interchanges. Wigan are able to name a 1-13 with Joe Burgess due to start on the wing.

Every member of the travelling squad is named on the bench including John Bateman who will make his first appearance of 2018. Former Souths player Gabe Hamlin also looks likely to get a run out against his former club.

Wigan Warriors Squad

Starting XIII: 1. Sam Tomkins, 2. Tom Davies, 3. Dan Sarginson, 4. Oliver Gildart, 5. Joe Burgess, 6. George Williams, 7. Sam Powell, 8. Tony Clubb, 9. Tommy Leuluai, 10. Ben Flower, 11. Joel Tomkins, 12. Liam Farrell, 13. Sean O’Loughlin.

Interchange: 14. John Bateman, 15. Ryan Sutton, 16. Frank-Paul Nuuausala, 17. Taulima Tautai, 19. Willie Isa, 20. Morgan Escaré, 22. Liam Marshall, 23. Josh Ganson, 24. Jake Shorrocks, 25. Romain Navarrete, 27. Callum Field, 30. Gabe Hamlin, 38. Craig Mullen, 39. Liam Paisley.

South Sydney Rabbitohs have also named their squad for Anthony Seibold’s first game in charge.

Australian internationals Alex Johnston and Robbie Farah are named alongside England pair Tom and George Burgess

South Sydney Rabbitohs Squad

Starting XIII: 1. Alex Johnston, 2. Richard Kennar, 3. Hymel Hunt, 4. Robert Jennings, 5. Campbell Graham, 6. Adam Doueihi, 7. Robbie Farah, 8. Thomas Burgess, 9. Damien Cook, 10. Mark Nicholls, 11. Tyrell Fuimaono, 12. Dean Britt, 13. Jason Clark.

Interchange: Connor Tracey, Lucky Ta’avale, George Burgess, Junior Tatola, Mawene Hiroti, Braidon Burns, Jacob Gagan, Siosifa Talakai, Billy Brittain.

International Double Header

Saturday, February 17 at ANZ Stadium Sydney

Hull FC Vs St George Illawarra Dragons - 5:45pm AEDT / 6:45am GMT

Wigan Warriors Vs South Sydney Rabbitohs – 7:45pm AEDT / 8:45am GMT

Tickets for the first ever double-header games between Super League and NRL teams at a single venue when Wigan face South Sydney Rabbitohs and Hull FC play St George Illawarra Dragons at ANZ Stadium, Sydney on Saturday 17 February, 2018 can be purchased HERE.

Wigan fans in the UK can watch the Warriors game at the Club’s screening event. Click HERE for details.

The Wigan Warriors and Hull F.C games in Wollongong and Sydney have been secured exclusively by the NSW Government via its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW, in partnership with Destination Wollongong.

Recent News & Media

Life is a Matter of Cherry & White
2018 in pictures
Club Statement - Zak Hardaker
Job Vacancy

Official Partners