England Name Final Squad

England Name Final Squad

  • Three Warriors in England’s World Cup Final Squad
  • O’Loughlin, Bateman and Williams included by coach Wayne Bennett
  • England face Australia in the Final on Saturday at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

England Head Coach Wayne Bennett has selected his 21-man squad to face Australia in the Rugby League World Cup final on Saturday at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane.

Lead by Wigan captain Sean O’Loughlin, the national side will play in their first World Cup final in 22 years after last featuring in 1995 when England took on the Kangaroos at Wembley Stadium.

Fellow Warrior John Bateman retains his place at centre, whilst George Williams is also included in the 21-man squad.

Head Coach, Wayne Bennett, said: “We’ve got a special group of men here who have worked hard for another and have been rewarded with a place in the final.

“Our efforts in defence against Tonga showed me how much they wanted to be here in this final week. The desire and commitment was clear to see.

“Australia are unbeaten in this tournament and it’s no secret that they are going into this game as favourites. They’re playing some good football at the moment.

“Preparation in Brisbane is going well for us – a mixture of training and recovery will ensure the squad are ready to do their best for the team, their family, their friends and the fans on Saturday.”

England 21-man squad to play Australia:

Gareth Widdop, Jermaine McGillvary, Kallum Watkins, John Bateman, Ryan Hall, Kevin Brown, Luke Gale, Chris Hill, James Roby, James Graham, Sam Burgess, Elliott Whitehead, Sean O’Loughlin ©, Alex Walmsley, Thomas Burgess, Ben Currie, Chris Heighington, Jonny Lomax, Scott Taylor, George Williams, Mark Percival

Recent News & Media

Strong academy: Leuluai
Best I can be: Gildart
Farrell thanks fans
Christmas Giveaway: Day 3