Leuluai Named in NZ Squad

Leuluai Named in NZ Squad

  • Thomas Leuluai named in New Zealand World Cup Squad

  • Wigan scrum-half one of three 2008 World Cup winners in side

  • Kiwis to co-host World Cup with Australia and Papua New Guinea

Thomas Leuluai was today named in the New Zealand squad for the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

The joint hosts include five debutants in the squad, Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Addin Fonua-Blake, Danny Levi, Isaac Liu and Brad Takairangi as well as three from the victorious 2008 Rugby League World Cup Kiwis side, Adam Blair, Simon Mannering and Leuluai.

Three players who featured in the recent NRL Grand Final have been selected including Kenneath Bromwich and Nelson Asofa-Solomona who were a part of the victorious Melbourne Storm.

Dally M Winger of the Year Jordan Rapana has also been named alongside Shaun Johnson, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Jason Nightingale, Gerard Beale and Dean Whare.

Players not considered due to injury include Tohu Harris, Jordan Kahu, Kieran Foran and Ben Matulino.

Wigan youngster Oliver Gildart also maintained his place in the revised Italy squad. Named Super League Young Player of the Year on Tuesday, Gildart qualifies for Italy owing to his Italian grandfather.

New Zealand Kiwis RLWC 2017 Squad

Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Melbourne Storm), Gerard Beale (Cronulla Sharks), Adam Blair (Brisbane Broncos), Kenneath Bromwich (Melbourne Storm), Addin Fonua-Blake (Manly Sea Eagles), Peta Hiku (Warrington Wolves), Shaun Johnson (New Zealand Warriors), Thomas Leuluai (Wigan Warriors), Danny Levi (Newcastle Knights), Isaac Liu (Sydney Roosters), Simon Mannering (New Zealand Warriors), Te Maire Martin (North Queensland Cowboys), Jason Nightingale (St George Illawarra Dragons), Kodi Nikorima (Brisbane Broncos), Russell Packer (St George Illawarra Dragons), Jordan Rapana (Canberra Raiders), Brad Takairangi (Parramatta Eels), Joseph Tapine (Canberra Raiders), Martin Taupau (Manly Sea Eagles), Elijah Taylor (Wests Tigers), Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (New Zealand Warriors), Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (Sydney Roosters), Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Penrith Panthers) & Dean Whare (Penrith Panthers).

Recent News & Media

DW Stadium to host Academy U19s Grand Final
Semi Final tickets on sale
Goulding: Defence most ‘pleasing’
Under-19s cruise to Grand Final

Official Partners