O'Loughlin Named in Dream Team

O'Loughlin Named in Dream Team

Sean O’Loughlin has been named in the 2017 Betfred Super League Dream Team, the sixth time he has appeared in the side.

O’Loughlin is just the fourth player to be named in the Dream Team six times or more joining illustrious company that includes Jamie Peacock (11), Andy Farrell (7) and Keiron Cunningham (7).

Seven Super League clubs are represented in this year’s team with League Leaders’ Shield winners Castleford Tigers (6) dominating the selection along with Hull FC (2), Huddersfield Giants (1), St Helens (1), Leeds Rhinos (1), Salford Red Devils (1) and Wigan Warriors (1).

The 2017 Dream Team features eight players making their debut, including Huddersfield Giants’ Sebastine Ikahihifo, St Helens’ centre Mark Percival and Leeds Rhinos hooker Matt Parcell, who makes his debut in his first year in Super League.

All three players shortlisted for the prestigious Steve Prescott Man of Steel award: Albert Kelly, Zak Hardaker and Luke Gale are included.

Joining Hardaker and Gale from Castleford Tigers, who have the most representatives in the Dream Team, are centre Michael Shenton and debutants Greg Eden, Grant Millington and Mike McMeeken.

Ladbrokes Challenge Cup winners Hull FC have two representatives in the Dream Team – Albert Kelly, who features for the first time and Mahe Fonua, who appears for the second consecutive year.

Salford Red Devils second row, Ben Murdoch-Masila makes his debut in the Dream Team and becomes the first Salford player to appear since David Hodgson in 2006.

The Betfred Super League Dream Team is selected by a panel of the sport’s broadcasters and journalists in a secret ballot and represents the form team of the Betfred Super League season.

The 2017 Betfred Super League Dream Team is as follows:

Zak Hardaker (Castleford Tigers) Dream Team appearances: 3 (2014, 2015, 2017)

Greg Eden (Castleford Tigers) Dream Team appearances: 1 (2017)

Michael Shenton (Castleford Tigers) Dream Team appearances: 3 (2014, 2015, 2017)

Mark Percival (St Helens) Dream Team appearances: 1 (2017)

Mahe Fonua (Hull FC) Dream Team appearances: 2 (2016, 2017)

Albert Kelly (Hull FC) Dream Team appearances: 1 (2017)

Luke Gale (Castleford Tigers) Dream Team appearances: 3 (2015, 2016, 2017)

Grant Millington (Castleford Tigers) Dream Team appearances: 1 (2017)

Matt Parcell (Leeds Rhinos) Dream Team appearances: 1 (2017)

Sebastine Ikahihifo (Huddersfield Giants) Dream Team appearances: 1 (2017)

Ben Murdoch-Masila (Salford Red Devils) Dream Team appearances: 1 (2017)

Mike McMeeken (Castleford Tigers) Dream Team appearances: 1 (2017)

Sean O’Loughlin (Wigan Warriors) Dream Team appearances: 6 (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017)

Tickets for the Betfred Super League Grand Final on Saturday October 7 (6.00pm) at Old Trafford, Manchester cost from just £20 for adult tickets and £15 for concessions. Tickets can be purchased from http://www.rugby-league.com/tickets/betfred_super_league_grand_final

Recent News & Media

Away Kit: Join Jake & Kai at Warriors World
2020 Away kit launched
Beastings have started: Marshall
Pre-season today