Five to Remember 2014 - Warriors Defeat Wire

Five to Remember 2014 - Warriors Defeat Wire

Having served up a classic in the league just weeks before, all of Super League were licking their lips at the prospect of a Wigan v Warrington play-off semi-final, the two teams certainly did not disappoint as they served up arguably the best game of 2014.

In an epic encounter at a vociferous DW Stadium, the Warriors drew first blood early on through a Matty Smith penalty. Wigan's lead was extended in the 18th minute as Joel Tomkins supported a brilliant Blake Green break to score his second try since re-joining the Warriors earlier in the season from Saracens RU. Smith's conversion extended the Wigan lead to 8-0.

Warrington fought back with Joel Monaghan claiming his tenth try in five matches collecting a high ball at the corner and grounding it cleanly after much scrutiny from the video referee. The game was on a knife edge at half time with Shaun Wane's side 8-4 to the good.

In a seesaw game, Wire half back Gareth O'Brian caught his own kick to go in for the try soon after the break, the conversion made it 10-8. However Wigan roared back with Anthony Gelling touching down on 54minutes to regain the lead at 12-10, only for Stefan Ratchford penalty goal to bring the Wolves back level.

After various unsuccessful drop goal attempts much to the despair of both sets of fans it was the Warriors who kept their composure with Joe Burgess evading several defenders to go over in the corner and send the majority of the DW Stadium into raptures. Wigan had sealed one of the most dramatic victories in recent memory on another night of pure drama and ecstasy.

Wigan Warriors 16

T - J. Tomkins, Gelling, Burgess

G - Smith 2/3, Bowen 0/1

Warrington Wolves 12

T - Monaghan, O' Brian

G - Ratchford 1/2, O' Brian 1/1

H/T: 8-4

Attendance: 15,023

Wigan Warriors - 1. Matty Bowen, 2. Josh Charnley, 5. Anthony Gelling, 23. Dan Sarginson, 32. Joe Burgess, 6. Blake Green, 7. Matty Smith, 10. Ben Flower, 9. Michael McIlorum, 17. Dom Crosby, 11. Joel Tomkins, 12. Liam Farrell, 13. Sean O'Loughlin

Replacements - 19. Sam Powell, 22. Eddy Pettybourne, 24. Tony Clubb, 25. John Bateman

Warrington Wolves - 6.Stefan Ratchford, 5. Joel Monaghan, 3. Chris Bridge, 4. Ryan Atkins, 18. Rhys Evans, 20. Gareth O'Brien, 7. Richie Myler, 8. Chris Hill, 14. Michael Monaghan, 19. Anthony England, 23. James Laithwaite, 11. Trent Waterhouse, 15. Ben Harrison

Replacements - 9. Micky Higham, 10. Roy Asotasi, 17. Ben Currie, 1. Matty Russell

Referee - P Bentham

Recent News & Media

A very good day: Farrell
Faz is a legend: Marshall
Taking positives: Lam
Rhinos overcome Warriors