Four Warriors in Running for World Awards

Four Warriors in Running for World Awards

Four Wigan Warriors players have been shortlisted for the Rugby League International Federation's team of the year.

Sam Tomkins, Josh Charnley, Matty Smith and Sean O'Loughlin are amogst ten Super League players are on the shortlists in their respective positions.

The list also includes Huddersfield captain Danny Brough, the 2013 Man of Steel who led Scotland to the World Cup quarter-finals, alongside fellow player of the year nominees, Australia centre Greg Inglis and New Zealand second-row forward Sonny Bill Williams.

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner in Manchester on Wednesday night.

Team of the year nominations:

Full-back: D Boyd (Newcastle and Australia), G Inglis (South Sydney and Australia), B Slater (Melbourne and Australia), S Tomkins (Wigan and England).

Winger: J Charnley (Wigan and England), Joel Monaghan (Warrington), B Morris (St George Illawarra and Australia), R Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters and New Zealand).

Centre: L Cudjoe (Huddersfield and England), M Jennings (Sydney Roosters and Australia), J Lyon (Manly), J Moon (Leeds).

Stand-off: D Brough (Huddersfield and Scotland), K Foran (Manly and New Zealand), J Maloney (Sydney Roosters), J Thurston (North Queensland and Australia).

Scrum-half: D Cherry-Evans (Manly and Australia), C Cronk (Melbourne and Australia), S Johnson (New Zealand Warriors and New Zealand), M Smith (Wigan).

Prop: S Burgess (South Sydney and England), A Fifita (Cronulla and Australia), J Peacock (Leeds), J Waerea-Hargreaves (Sydney Roosters and New Zealand).

Hooker: R Farah (Wests Tigers and Australia), M Higham (Warrington), I Luke (South Sydney and New Zealand), C Smith (Melbourne and Australia).

Second row: B Cordner (Sydney Roosters and Australia), B Ferres (Huddersfield and England), L Lewis (Cronulla and Australia), SB Williams (Sydney Roosters and New Zealand).

Loose forward: G Bird (Gold Coast and Australia), P Gallen (Cronulla and Australia), S O'Loughlin (Wigan and England), C Parker (Brisbane and Australia).


Recent News & Media

Lam lauds Farrell
Wigan hit Skolars for 70
Skolars friendly 10s format
Friendlies live on Wigan TV