Four Warriors in England Men’s squad

four Warriors have been named in England Men’s 20-player squad ahead of Saturday’s mid-season clash against France including a first call up for brad o’neill.

The 21-year-old has been selected by England Head Coach Shaun Wane alongside Tyler Dupree, Harry Smith and Luke Thompson for the fixture against France at Toulouse’s Stade Ernest-Wallon.

O’Neill, who started at hooker in the Warriors’ Betfred World Cup Challenge and Betfred Challenge Cup Final wins, is one of several players to receive their first England call up alongside Sam Wood, Elliot Minchella, George Delaney, Oliver Wilson and James McDonnell.

Speaking on his squad selection, England Head Coach, Shaun Wane said: “I’m pleased with the squad we’ve brought together for this mid-season international and there is a strong balance between some more experienced international players and some newer faces to the England squad.

“All of the new players who have come into the squad have impressed me with their performances in the Betfred Super League this season and have earned their spot in this England squad.

“Having travelled to face France back in 2021, we know they will offer us a stern test which is exactly what we need ahead of the two-game series against Samoa this Autumn.”

Saturday’s international in Toulouse will be contested as a double-header with England Women’s also in action at the Stade Ernest-Wallon. Both matches will be streamed live on Super League+ with the Women’s clash kicking off at 2:30pm (BST) and the Men’s at 5pm (BST).

England Men Squad: Ben Currie (Warrington Wolves), George Delaney (St Helens), Tyler Dupree (Wigan Warriors), Ash Handley (Leeds Rhinos), James Harrison (Warrington Wolves), Tom Johnstone (Catalans Dragons), Matty Lees (St Helens), Mikey Lewis, Jez Litten (both Hull KR), James McDonnell (Leeds Rhinos), Elliot Minchella (Hull KR), Harry Newman (Leeds Rhinos), Matty Nicholson (Warrington Wolves), Brad O’Neill, Harry Smith, Luke Thompson (all Wigan Warriors), Jack Welsby (St Helens), George Williams (Warrington Wolves), Oliver Wilson (Huddersfield Giants), Sam Wood (Castleford Tigers).

Monday 24 June 2024