Five Warriors in two England Women’s Squads

  • Five Warriors have been included in England Women’s two National Performance Squads.
  • Head coach Stuart Barrow has named Anna Davies in the senior squad.
  • Grace Banks, Mary Coleman, Eva Hunter and Molly Jones have been selected in the Knights squad.

Five Warriors have been included in England Women’s two National Performance Squads ahead of the Senior squad meeting for their first training session later this month.

Head coach Stuart Barrow has selected 27 players from the Betfred Women’s Super League (BWSL) in the senior squad, which includes Anna Davies who finished as the Warriors’ top scorer last season with nine tries.

Grace Banks is one of eight new names to be selected for the Knights squad after an impressive 2023 campaign saw the half back cross for seven tries, which included sensational solo scores against St Helens and York Valkyrie.

Banks is joined in the Knights squad by Mary Coleman and Molly Jones, who started all 15 matches for the Warriors last season, as well as forward Eva Hunter who scored three tries in 2023.

Speaking on the squads, Barrow said: “I’m really pleased to be able to give some new players a chance in both the Knights and Senior England set-up this year, and it’s especially exciting given that so many of them have been involved in both the Knights and DiSE programmes.

“The size and depth of each squad proves just how much the Betfred Women’s Super League is continuing to improve, and there are some fantastic young talents in this year’s Knights squad. I’m expecting these players to keep on developing and pushing for a place in the senior team as the season progresses.”

England Women Senior National Performance Squad: Caitlin Beevers (Leeds Rhinos), Jasmine Bell (York Valkyrie), Keara Bennett (Leeds Rhinos), Amelia Brown (Huddersfield Giants), Leah Burke (St Helens), Caitlin Casey (Leeds Rhinos), Jodie Cunningham (St Helens), Anna Davies (Wigan Warriors), Hollie-Mae Dodd (Canberra Raiders), Grace Field (Leeds Rhinos), Francesca Goldthorp (North Queensland Cowboys), Amy Hardcastle (Leeds Rhinos), Georgie Hetherington (York Valkyrie), Zoe Hornby, Shona Hoyle (Leeds Rhinos), Tara Jones, Katie Mottershead (St Helens), Lacey Owen, Eboni Partington, Sinead Peach, Tamzin Renouf (all York Valkyrie), Georgia Roche (Newcastle Knights), Emily Rudge (St Helens), Tara-Jane Stanley (York Valkyrie), Paige Travis, Vicky Whitfield (both St Helens), Liv Wood (York Valkyrie).

England Women Knights National Performance Squad: Emily Baggaley (Warrington Wolves), Grace Banks (Wigan Warriors), Chloe Billington (Featherstone Rovers), Mary Coleman (Wigan Warriors), Jasmine Cudjoe, Ruby Enright (both Leeds Rhinos), Liv Gale (York Valkyrie), Phoebe Hook (St Helens), Eva Hunter, Molly Jones (both Wigan Warriors), Emma Kershaw (York Valkyrie), Lucy Murray, Izzy Northorp (Leeds Rhinos), Beri Salihi, Lucie Sams (both St Helens), Jess Sharp (York Valkyrie), Georgia Sutherland, Erin Stott (both St Helens), Bella Sykes (Leeds Rhinos), Amy Taylor (St Helens), Danielle Waters (Featherstone Rovers), Olivia Whitehead (Leeds Rhinos), Megan Williams (St Helens).

Tuesday 09 January 2024