Andy Farrell: RL Hall of Famer

Rugby League Cares and the Rugby Football League are delighted to announce that four of the greatest players in the sport’s history will receive the highest honour the sport can bestow next month when they are inducted into the men’s Rugby League Hall of Fame.

Wigan Warriors legend Andy Farrell OBE, as well as Adrian Morley, Clive Sullivan MBE and David Watkins MBE are the latest players to be identified as the best of the very best since the sport began in 1895.

The four will formally join the 28 current members in Rugby League’s most exclusive club at an induction ceremony in Wigan on Thursday 27th October.

RFL Chief Executive Ralph Rimmer said: “On behalf of the whole sport I would like to congratulate Andy, Adrian, Clive and David on this wonderful achievement which is so richly deserved.

“Millions of people have played this great sport in the last 127 years, and it is a testimony to the quality of all four players that they are among just 32 who have so far been selected for inclusion in the Rugby League Hall of Fame.

“We are looking forward to inducting these four sporting giants into the Hall of Fame next month on what will undoubtedly be a very special evening for everyone.”

The inductions will take place at a celebration dinner at The Edge Arena in Wigan on Thursday 27th October. At the same event, the first members will be inducted into the newly-established Women’s Rugby League Hall of Fame – the former Great Britain internationals Brenda Dobek, Lisa McIntosh and Sally Milburn.

The RL Hall of Fame is administered by the RFL and RL Cares in the charity’s capacity as champions of the sport’s wonderful heritage. Players are selected for entry into the Hall of Fame by a panel comprising members from across the sport, including administrators, former international players and historians.

To be considered for elevation into the Hall of Fame, players must have played professional Rugby League for at least 10 years, established a reputation that transcends the era in which they played and have a record of outstanding achievement at the very highest level.

The final eligibility criteria has been changed, with players now required to have been retired for five years since their last appearance (it had previously been 10 years).

In a 13-year career at Wigan, Andy Farrell won six Championships and four Challenge Cups and was regarded as one of the most talented players of his generation.

He captained both Wigan and Great Britain by example and made 46 international appearances: 35 for Great Britain and 11 for England. Farrell played in two World Cup tournaments and in 1996 became the youngest captain in Lions history when he led the 1996 tour to PNG, New Zealand and Fiji.

RL Cares Chairman Tim Adams MBE said: “We would like to congratulate the four new inductees on their elevation into the Hall of Fame which is deserved recognition of their immense talent.

“Andy, Adrian, Clive and David created magical memories for millions of sports fans across the world during their illustrious careers and it is right and proper that they have been recognised in this way.”

A table of 10 to the 2022 RL Hall of Fame induction dinner costs £500 – to book tickets or for more information please email RL Cares Events Manager Catherine Maddy, [email protected]

There are now 32 inductees in the men’s RL Hall of Fame, including nine former Wigan players.

Below is the full list of inductees with the year they were each inducted and the clubs they played for:

  • Eric Ashton (2005, Wigan)
  • Billy Batten (1988, Hunslet, Hull, Wakefield, Castleford)
  • Brian Bevan (1988, Warrington, Blackpool)
  • Billy Boston (1988, Wigan, Blackpool)     
  • Douglas Clark (2005, Huddersfield)
  • Shaun Edwards (2015, Wigan, Bradford, London)       
  • Andy Farrell (2022, Wigan)
  • Neil Fox (1989, Wakefield, Bradford, Hull KR, York, Bramley, Huddersfield)
  • Albert Goldthorpe (2015, Hunslet)
  • Andy Gregory (2018, Widnes, Warrington, Wigan, Leeds, Salford)
  • Ellery Hanley (2005, Bradford, Wigan, Leeds)
  • Martin Hodgson (2005, Swinton)
  • Willie Horne (2014, Barrow, Oldham)   
  • Lewis Jones (2013, Leeds)
  • Vince Karalius (2000, St Helens, Widnes)      
  • Roger Millward (2000, Hull KR, Castleford)  
  • Adrian Morley (2022, Leeds, Bradford, Warrington, Salford)
  • Alex Murphy (1988, St Helens, Leigh, Warrington)
  • Martin Offiah (2013, Widnes, Wigan, London, Salford)
  • Jonty Parkin (1988, Wakefield, Hull KR)  
  • Gus Risman (1988, Salford, Workington, Batley)     
  • Malcolm Reilly (2014, Castleford)
  • Albert Rosenfeld (1988, Huddersfield, Wakefield, Bradford)      
  • Garry Schofield (2013, Hull, Leeds, Huddersfield, Doncaster, Bramley)  
  • Clive Sullivan (2022, Hull KR, Hull, Oldham, Doncaster)                                
  • Mick Sullivan (2013, Huddersfield, Wigan, St Helens, York, Dewsbury)
  • Jim Sullivan (1988, Wigan)
  • Derek Turner (2018, Hull KR, Oldham, Wakefield)                     
  • Tom Van Vollenhoven (2000, St Helens)
  • Harold Wagstaff (1988, Huddersfield)
  • David Watkins (2022, Salford, Swinton, Cardiff)                  
  • John Whiteley (2018, Hull)