Women’s Challenge Cup fixtures confirmed   

Fixtures have been confirmed for the Betfred Women’s Challenge Cup, with the group stage – and with it the Women’s 2022 season – starting on Sunday 13th March and the competition itself culminating with the final at Elland Road on Saturday 7th May.  

Last week’s draw, which took place at Elland Road, saw 16 teams drawn into four seeded groups of four teams – guaranteeing each of them three fixtures. And the top two seeds, St Helens and Leeds Rhinos, will both play two of their three matches away from home.   

In the opening fixtures, newly-promoted Barrow Raiders face the sternest of tests – a Group A home tie against the cup-holders St Helens. The other Group A tie sees a formidable British Army team entertain a Warrington Wolves side.

In Group B, last season’s BWSL Shield winners Huddersfield Giants entertain Leeds Rhinos, while Hull FC visit to Leigh Miners Rangers. Bradford Bulls and Widnes Vikings are at home to Wigan Warriors and York City Knights respectively in the opening Group C fixtures, while Group D offers derby matches between Castleford Tigers and Wakefield Trinity, and Oulton Raidettes and Featherstone Rovers. 

Group fixtures in full

Sunday 13th March 

Group A: Barrow Raiders v St Helens; British Army v Warrington Wolves

Group B:  Huddersfield Giants v Leeds Rhinos; Leigh Miners Rangers v Hull FC 

Group C: Bradford Bulls v Wigan Warriors; Widnes Vikings v York City Knights 

Group D: Castleford Tigers v Wakefield Trinity; Oulton Raidettes v Featherstone Rovers

Sunday 27th March 

Group A: St Helens v British Army; Warrington Wolves v Barrow Raiders

Group B: Hull FC v Leeds Rhinos; Leigh Miners Rangers v Huddersfield Giants  

Group C: Bradford Bulls v York City Knights; Wigan Warriors v Widnes Vikings  

Group D: Oulton Raidettes v Castleford Tigers; Wakefield Trinity v Featherstone Rovers

Sunday 3rd April 

Group A: Warrington Wolves v St Helens; Barrow Raiders v British Army  

Group B: Leeds Rhinos v Leigh Miners Rangers; Hull FC v Huddersfield Giants 

Group C: Widnes Vikings v Bradford Bulls; York City Knights v Wigan Warriors 

Group D: Featherstone Rovers v Castleford Tigers; Wakefield Trinity v Oulton Raidettes 

The top two teams from each group will progress to the quarter-finals stage on the weekend of 9th-10th April. The four group stage winners will each enjoy home advantage in the quarter-finals: the winner of Group A will play the runner-up from Group B; the Group B winner will host the Group A runner-up; Group C’s winner will play the Group D runner-up; and the winner of Group D will entertain the runner-up from Group C. 

The semi-finals are scheduled for the weekend of 23rd/24th April and the final for Saturday 7th May – part of an Elland Road triple header alongside the semi-finals of the Men’s competition. 

On the following weekend (Sunday 15th May) the Betfred Women’s Super League gets underway, with fixtures to be announced early in the New Year.