Injury update

Get the latest on the Wigan Warriors squad ahead of Wednesday’s Betfred Super League bout with Warrington Wolves with the Assured Screening Injury Update.

Adrian Lam’s men will travel to the Halliwell Jones Stadium to face off against the Primrose and Blues in the hope of continuing their recent good form.

Here’s some more info on who’s likely to line up for the Warriors, and who is still working back from injury.

Injury news

John Bateman (ankle) and Liam Byrne (rib) have returned for selection after overcoming their respective injuries.

Byrne has missed the last two with a rib cartilage issue, while Bateman has been out of action since June after suffering an ankle injury on international duty with England.

Speaking about the two on Monday in his pre-match press conference, Lam said: “We’ve got both Liam Byrne and John Bateman coming into consideration. We’re gonna give John right up until kick-off to be right for this game. He’s obviously an important part of our team.

“It’s just nice to have two fresh bodies coming back in and should have another one back every week for the next few weeks.”

John Bateman in training.

Morgan Smithies remains sidelined with an ankle injury. Lam also provided an update on the forward on Monday.

“We’re hoping to have Morgan back in time for the Salford game.”

Zak Hardaker is again unavailable this week due to a neck injury.

Winger Dom Manfredi continues to recover from a knee injury.

Jai Field remains side-lined with a torn hamstring injury sustained during Round 1 against Leigh Centurions.

Bevan French too continues recovery from a hamstring injury, expected to keep the full back out for the remainder of the 2021 season.

Wigan Warriors squad v Warrington Wolves

4. Oliver Gildart
5. Liam Farrell
7. Tommy Leuluai
8. Brad Singleton
9. Sam Powell
10. Joe Bullock
11. Willie Isa
12. Liam Farrell
13. Bateman
14. Oliver Partington
17. Tony Clubb
19. Liam Byrne
20. Harry Smith
21. Ethan Havard
22. Jake Bibby
23. Mitch Clark
25. Joe Shorrocks
27. Kai Pearce-Paul
28. Sam Halsall
31. Jackson Hastings
33. Amir Bourouh