2020 Awards night winners

Find out who picked up the big prizes at this year’s End of Season Awards evening – proudly sponsored by Steve Woods Ltd.

As each season comes to a close, the Club likes to reflect and honour those who have contributed most to the efforts of the Cherry and Whites, both on and off the pitch.

In another of the many adaptations to usual practice necessitated by Covid-19, this year’s ceremony took place within the team bubble at the Robin Park Arena training base. It was also streamed on the Club’s Facebook page for fans to enjoy.

Here’s a recap of the winners from the 2020 awards.

Try of the Year

There have been plenty of fantastic tries scored by Wigan this season, so selecting a shortlist was no easy feat.

However, after putting the vote out to the Warriors fans, there had to be only one winner.

Liam Marshall’s audacious kick off return try – scored against Huddersfield back in March – proved to be the favourite of 2020.

Peter Higginbottom Award

The award named after one of the Club’s former presidents, was formerly known as the Clubman of the year.

This is awarded to somebody who has gone the extra mile, the unsung hero of the season. Past winners have included staff members and volunteers.

In what has been a really difficult year to navigate both on and off the field, the award was presented to the Club’s welfare and education manager, Tom Fitzpatrick, who had picked up the responsibility of Covid-19 officer when the pandemic struck.

His tireless efforts ensuring and enforcing the correct protocols within the Club, and ultimately keeping the team and staff safe, made him a worthy winner.

Young Player of the Year

The 2020 season, like plenty of others, has seen a new wave of Wigan talent progress through the Academy and into the first team.

In an unprecedented year, youngsters have been called upon to make their mark in the Betfred Super League, and this year’s winner has done that AND some.

Making 11 appearances to date, the 2020 winner will certianly make plenty more in the future, having signed a four-year deal with the Club earlier in the year.

The 2020 Young Player of the Year was awarded to 20-year-old forward Ethan Havard.

Tackle of the Year

Often as important as a try, one big hit can change the momentum of a game without altering the scoreboard.

There has been plenty of belting efforts throughout 2020, from enormous smashes to brilliant try-savers. A shortlist was selected by the Wigan coaching staff, and from these, a winner was chosen.

The 2020 Tackle of the Year was awarded to the ever-present Willie Isa, for this HUGE shot on Toronto’s Gadwin Springer back in February.

Coach’s Player of the Year

This award is given to a player of the Head Coach’s choosing.

Adrian Lam did the honours, handing it to second row Liam Farrell.

In his testimonial year, Farrell has been in fantastic form, so much so that he earned a place in the shortlist for the 2020 Man of Steel.

Boss Lam presented the award, highlighting the Englishman’s professionalism on and off the field in a challenging season for all.

Players’ Player of the Year

Professionals will often say that this one means the most to them; gaining the upmost respect from their teammates at the end of a long year.

This award is not just about what you do on a matchday, it’s about being a team player all week long.

In his first full season at Wigan, Bevan French has clearly done enough to impress his peers, picking up the coveted Players’ Player for 2020.

Player of the Year

At the end of every season the Wigan Warriors fans are given the chance to vote on the player they believe made the biggest impact for the Cherry and Whites.

Becoming a fan favourite in a short space of time, no doubt because of his flashy style of play, the Ancient and Loyal Wiganers selected Bevan French as their Player of the Year.

Chairman’s Award

The final award of the evening, as always, is chosen and presented by chairman Ian Lenagan.

This award gives the Club’s chairman a chance to highlight someone who he believes deserves recognition which the other awards may not have credited.

It was very fitting then, for the chairman to award retiring club captain Sean O’Loughlin with this honour, after the 19 years he has spent as a professional with the Club.

Wigan Warriors would like to express its sincere thanks to Ince-based undercarriage and plant engineering specialists, Steve Woods Ltd, for once again sponsoring our annual End of Season Awards ceremony.

To experience a full interactive display of exciting content that helps to bring our new badge and its story to life, visit our badge microsite now.

Be among the first fans to get your hands on the new look by checking out our 2021 hummel replica kits, training range and travel wear in our online store.