21-man squad vs Hull KR

  • Adrian Lam has named the Wigan Warriors 21-man squad to face Hull Kingston Rovers on Thursday in the Betfred Super League.
  • Five changes in the 21 include Oliver Gildart’s first selection of 2020.
  • Hull KR vs Wigan Warriors, Thursday 3rd September, Emerald Headingley Stadium, K.O. 6pm.

Head Coach Adrian Lam has named the Wigan Warriors 21-man squad to face Hull KR this Thursday in the Betfred Super League.

The Cherry and Whites will travel to Emerald Headingley Stadium to take on Tony Smith’s men in their second trip to Leeds since the resumption of the 2020 season.

Lam has made five changes to the 21 that faced Castleford, with Liam Marshall, George Burgess, Morgan Smithies, Joe Bullock and Ethan Havard missing out.

Oliver Gildart in training.

Oliver Gildart returns for selection for the first time in 2020 after being side-lined with a shoulder injury since Autumn 2019.

Oliver Partington returns from a four-match suspension which has seen the 21-year-old miss the first three Betfred Super League games since its resumption.

Forwards Mitch Clark and Jack Wells return alongside winger Joe Burgess, who was called up late into the match day squad last week.

Morgan Smithies is unavailable after being issued with a two-match penalty notice for a Grade C charge of headbutting in Saturday’s Betfred Super League fixture against Castleford Tigers.

Smithies has also been ordered to appear at a tribunal on a Grade D charge of dangerous contact, following an incident in the 43rd minute of the match.

Injury news

Club Captain Sean O’loughlin misses out with a hamstring injury, but is expected to return next week to face Catalans Dragons.

Half-back Jake Shorrocks also remains out of action with a hamstring injury.

After picking up a hip injury vs Castleford last weekend, prop-forward George Burgess misses out.

Lam confirmed earlier this week that forward Tony Clubb is likely to be out with a neck injury for up to three months.

The Head Coach also discussed the injury of Liam Marshall, who left the field vs Castleford last weekend with suspected knee ligament damage.

He said: “Liam will go and get a scan tomorrow so we are praying he’s ok. It doesn’t look great at the moment, but fingers crossed.”

21-man squad to face Hull KR

1. Zak Hardaker
3. Chris Hankinson
4. Oliver Gildart
5. Joe Burgess
6. Bevan French
7. Tommy Leuluai
9. Sam Powell
11. Willie Isa
12. Liam Farrell
14. Ben Flower
15. Joe Greenwood
17. Oliver Partington
20. Liam Byrne
21. Dom Manfredi
22. Mitch Clark
23. Jake Bibby
28. Harry Smith
29. Jack Wells
31. Jackson Hastings
32. Amir Bourouh
33. Joe Shorrocks

Can you chip in just £1 per week to support our Academy? Join Lotto now and that’s where all the proceeds go… once we’ve paid out some huge weekly prizes! Click here to find out more…