21-man squad to face Castleford

  • Adrian Lam names 21-man Wigan Warriors squad to face Castleford Tigers in the Betfred Super League.
  • Warriors make three changes as Tommy Leuluai, Ben Flower and George Burgess replace Mitch Clark, Jack Wells and Joe Burgess.
  • Wigan Warriors vs Castleford Tigers, Saturday 29th August, Halliwell Jones Stadium, K.O. 4:15pm.

Wigan Warriors Head Coach Adrian Lam has named a 21-man squad to face Castleford Tigers this Saturday in the Betfred Super League.

The Cherry and Whites were scheduled to face Catalans Dragons on Saturday. However, following the announcement on Tuesday night that three Dragons players and one non-playing member of staff had tested positive for Covid-19, Wigan’s opposition had to be reshuffled. Learn more here.

Team news

Adrian Lam has made three changes to the Wigan Warriors 21 from their last outing against Leeds Rhinos.

Tommy Leuluai returns from an ankle injury, Ben Flower comes back from a back injury and George Burgess features after serving a one-match suspension. Mitch Clark, Jack Wells and Joe Burgess miss out.

Ollie Partington isn’t available as he serves out the fourth and final of a four-match ban for a Grade D Dangerous Contact committed against Hull KR in early March. 

Sean O’Loughlin remains sidelined following a hamstring injury sustained in training. Oliver Gildart is “potentially one more week away” from a return to action from his shoulder injury – according to Adrian Lam – who spoke on at Wednesday’s virtual press conference.

The Head Coach also commented on the status of forward Tony Clubb, who hasn’t featured since the restart due to a neck injury.

“Tony Clubb, that looks like it may not be good news and could be more long term, we are getting clarification on that.” 

21-man squad to face Castleford

1. Zak Hardaker
2. Liam Marshall
3. Chris Hankinson
6. Bevan French
7. Tommy Leuluai
9. Sam Powell
10. George Burgess
11. Willie Isa
12. Liam Farrell
14. Ben Flower
15. Joe Greenwood
16. Morgan Smithies
19. Joe Bullock
20. Liam Byrne
21. Dom Manfredi
23. Jake Bibby
28. Harry Smith
30. Ethan Havard
31. Jackson Hastings
32. Amir Bourouh
33. Joe Shorrocks