Four Warriors named in EWPS

Four players from Wigan Warriors Women’s team have been selected in a 29-player England Women Performance Squad (EWPS) for 2020.

Rebecca Greenfield, Victoria Molyneux, Rachel Thompson and Georgia Wilson have all been named as part of Head Coach Craig Richards’ squad.

A 10-player England Women Knights Performance Squad (EWKPS) has also been named.

Georgia Wilson goes over to score in England’s World Cup 9s game vs PNG Women in October.

Richards said: “We felt it was important to name our squads despite the current circumstances to maintain some normality and to ensure the players know where they are in terms of our planning going forward.

“Even though we aren’t meeting and training as a group we have been conducting a number of webinars and online sessions throughout this difficult period which have allowed us to maintain contact and guide the squad.

“Our Athletic Performance Coach Stacey Emmonds has provided the players with training programmes to ensure they’re staying as near to peak fitness as possible despite the current limitations on training.

“Yesterday’s announcement regarding the potential scenarios for a return of the Betfred Women’s Super League included a mini pre-season of three or four weeks which is something we would look to tap into as a Performance Unit.”

The EWKPS will run for the first time under the leadership of former England Women International Lois Forsell, who has been appointed Leeds Rhinos head coach for 2020, and Paul Sculthorpe, the EPU Pathways Coach – with a view to increasing the squad from the 10 players named.

Richards added: “We have named a base of ten players in our Knights squad, but this is with a view to expanding throughout 2020.

“The girls who have been selected now have something to work towards while we have a long list of potential candidates who could bolster that squad further down the line.

“We have been in regular contact with all the players helping them through the current situation, particularly the ones potentially under more stress due to their additional commitments as key workers.

“We have certainly been more conscious of external factors such as work in recent weeks when developing our programme and managing squad members.

“It is important that we continue to manage the programme well whilst remaining focused on 2021 which is a huge year for us hosting the Rugby League World Cup on home soil.”

England Women Performance Squad:

Dannielle Anderson (Leeds Rhinos)

Caitlin Beevers (Leeds Rhinos)

Leah Burke (St Helens)

Chantelle Crowl (St Helens)

Jodie Cunningham (St Helens)

Abigail Eatock (Leeds Rhinos)

Grace Field (Castleford Tigers)

Natasha Gaines (Leeds Rhinos)

Kelsey Gentles (Castleford Tigers)

Francesca Goldthorp (Leeds Rhinos)

Rebecca Greenfield (Wigan Warriors)

Amy Hardcastle (Bradford Bulls)

Shona Hoyle (Castleford Tigers)

Amy Johnson (Leeds Rhinos)

Tara Jones (St Helens)

Chloe Kerrigan (Leeds Rhinos)

Shannon Lacey (Leeds Rhinos)

Victoria Molyneux (Wigan Warriors)

Roxette Murdoch (Warrington Wolves)

Lacey Owen (Castleford Tigers)

Sinead Peach (Castleford Tigers)

Carrie Roberts (British Army)

Georgia Roche (Castleford Tigers)

Emily Rudge (St Helens)

Tara Jane Stanley (Castleford Tigers)

Rachel Thompson (Wigan Warriors)

Paige Travis (St Helens)

Naomi Williams (St Helens)

Georgia Wilson (Wigan Warriors)

England Women Knights Performance Squad:

Keara Bennett (Leeds Rhinos)

Isabel Bibby (Huddersfield Giants)

Jasmine Cudjoe (Castleford Tigers)

Hollie Mae Dodd (Castleford Tigers)

Elle Frain (Leeds Rhinos)

Tara Moxon (Wakefield Trinity)

Sophie Nuttall (Leeds Rhinos)

Ellie Oldroyd (Leeds Rhinos)

Tamzin Renouf (Castleford Tigers)

Aallisha Rhodes (Wakefield Trinity)

Thursday 21 May 2020