Wigan 34 Leeds 0

  • Match report as Wigan Warriors beat Leeds Rhinos 34-0 at the DW Stadium

  • Warriors run in seven tries to ease past young Rhinos side

  • Michael Mcilorum, Sam Tomkins, George Williams 2, Oliver Gildart 2 and Tom Davies with Wigan’s tries

Wigan eased into the Super 8s with a seven try victory over Leeds Rhinos in the second game of BIG ONE WEEK.

The Warriors were comfortable throughout and led 14-0 at the break after Michael Mcilorum’s opening try was backed up by Sam Tomkins and George Williams.

Wigan extended their lead ten minutes into the second through Oliver Gildart who scored a second try just moments later. Wigan had to wait until the 70th minute to score again as Tom Davies edged another and George Williams rounded off a comfortable evening with a well-deserved second to finish off the scoring.


Wigan made one change to the team that lost last week to Warrington as Tom Davies replaced Liam Marshall on the wing.

Leeds made a number of changes ahead of the game meaning Harvey Whiteley, Harry Newman and Alex Sutcliffe all debuted.


Torrential rain greeted the teams and conditions were sure to play a part in how the game was played.

Whichever side managed to take advantage of the weather, in both defence and attack, would be the one to take control and early on it was Wigan as Tommy Leuluai used his initiative to push Jimmy Keinhorst out of play near the touchline to gift the home side possession.

The Warriors soon scored the first try of the game as a scoot from dummy half by Micky Mcilorum allowed the Wigan hooker to slide over and break the deadlock.

Just minutes later Sam Tomkins kicked through and latched onto his own bouncing ball to score on the right edge. George Williams converted the first but was off target with the second, Wigan 10-0 to the good after 15 minutes.

The Warriors had further chances to add to their advantage with Frank-Paul Nuuausala and Willie Isa both going close. Isa having two chalked off by the video referee, the first as he failed to ground the ball and the second after an obstruction in the build up.

Wigan continued to dominate proceedings with much of the game played deep inside the Leeds half. The Warriors drew a penalty for lying-on just after the half-hour mark and George Williams barged his way over to extend the lead. His conversion attempt hitting the upright and bouncing away, 14-0 the advantage.

Leeds had a sniff three minutes before the break, their first real attack of the half, but Jack Walker fumbled as he looked to score. Wigan responded forcing two drop-outs in the final three minutes but the visitors held out.

HALF TIME: Wigan Warriors 14–0 Leeds Rhinos


It took Wigan ten minutes to open their account in the first half and they followed suit in the second as good metres from George Williams allowed space for Oliver Gildart who ran at the line and spun in the tackle to go over.

Williams was on hand again as a neat one-two with Willie Isa found him in clear air and an inside ball to Gildart allowed the Wigan centre in under the posts just moments later. Wigan 24-0 up and hunting more points.

The Rhinos put up a spirited fight but rarely looked like scoring and it was Wigan who added to their tally ten minutes from the end as a John Bateman offload allowed Tomkins to flick onto Anthony Gelling who put Tom Davies over in the right corner for Wigan’s 100th Super League try of 2017.

The Warriors were in full command and having been setup by Williams twice earlier in the half, Gildart returned the favour as he burst through the line to put the Wigan stand-off over for his second of the game. Powell converted and Wigan were 34-0 winners.

FULL TIME: Wigan Warriors 34–0 Leeds Rhinos

Match Information

Wigan Warriors - 34

Tries: Michael Mcilorum, Sam Tomkins, George Williams 2, Oliver Gildart 2, Tom Davies

Goals: George Williams 2/6, Sam Powell 1/1

Leeds Rhinos - 0



HT: 14-0

Attendance: 15,119

Wigan Warriors: 1. Sam Tomkins, 36. Tom Davies, 3. Anthony Gelling, 4. Oliver Gildart, 5. Joe Burgess, 6. George Williams, 7. Tommy Leuluai, 8. Frank-Paul Nuuausala, 9. Micky McIlorum, 19. Ryan Sutton, 20. Willie Isa, 14. John Bateman, 13. Sean O’Loughlin

Interchange: 15. Tony Clubb, 16. Sam Powell, 17. Taulima Tautai, 28. Jack Wells

Leeds Rhinos: 31. Jack Walker, 2. Tom Briscoe, 18. Jimmy Keinhorst, 32. Alex Sutcliffe, 33. Harry Newman, 1. Ashton Golding, 25. Jordan Lilley, 17. Mitch Garbutt, 11. Jamie Jones-Buchanan, 24. Jordan Baldwinson, 23. Jack Ormondroyd, 12. Carl Ablett, 20. Anthony Mullally

Interchange: 28. Mikolaj Oledzki, 29. Josh Jordan Roberts, 27. Cameron Smith, 34. Harvey Whiteley

Referee – Ben Thaler

Gallery Images

Official Partners